1 Topic, 5 Facts: Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

Spread the love

How well do you know the ocean?
This regular feature will help acquaint you with our blue planet.

Topic: Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

  1. The Great Lakes are considered an MPA!
  2. MPAs have a variety of designations. Some are considered “multiple use” and can be used for recreational activities such as diving and fishing, while others are “no take” and not even a shell can be removed from the site.
  3. The wreckage of the Queen Anne’s Revenge, Blackbeard’s flagship, is considered a historical site, and is a protected MPA.
  4. 1.57million km2 of the Ross Sea is currently the largest MPA and is closed to fishing for the next 35 years.
  5. The Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument is the largest MPA in the United States, encompassing 1.51million km2 of ocean waters, including ten islands and atolls of the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands.